World Unite! Volunteering, Internships, Cultural Travel

Volunteering, Internships and Intercultural Learning in Tanzania, Zanzibar, India, Morocco, Israel, Nicaragua, Bolivia, China, Japan, Ghana, Galapagos, Ecuador

My medical elective in Tanzania in one word…

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Medical student Claudia from Canada completed her elective placement at a hospital in Moshi/Kilimanjaro. She sums up her experiences in Tanzania in just one word: 

If I had one word to describe my medical placement in Moshi, Tanzania, it would be „eye opening“. I went into this placement not really knowing what to expect… My main goal was not so much to widen my medical knowledge but rather gain perspective into how things are done in a developing country with limited resources. I can safely say that this elective far more exceeded that goal. I think my biggest barrier was not speaking the local language and feel I would have been able to contribute so much more if I would have been able to. Nonetheless, the staff was lovely and very happy to teach us and show us their ways. The local coordinators were amazing and really made us feel safe and at home in Moshi. I loved that they included us into the local traditions. I really enjoyed learning how to cook local dishes and getting a peak at what life is really like in the local villages. A big thank you to the whole team at World Unite! for making this possible!

Claudia, Medical Student

Visit us on our website for further information about our internship options in medicine, nursing and therapies in Tanzania!

Kommentar verfassen

